Are you a gamer?

How do you define a gamer? Someone who plays console games every day? Someone who casually plays game apps on their smart phone? Someone who plays tabletop games once a week? Everyone seems to have a different idea of what constitutes a gamer. Dictionary definition states that a gamer is someone who plays games, especially computer or video games. I see a gamer as someone who loves to play games. Any games. With the exception of sports I suppose. I sometimes feel like there are hardcore gamers out there that might look at me and decide I don’t play games enough, or don’t play the right games to be considered a gamer. I disagree. I definitely see myself as a gamer. True, I don’t play as much as I used to, but I also have a 3 month old baby. I do play games every day though. I am a breastfeeding mom and my daughter likes to eat. A lot. So I am glued to the couch a lot of the time. Though I have played some Mass Effect while feeding her, I usually play Candy Crush Saga on my phone. I am truly addicted to this game now. I’m stuck on level 147! My husband and I have a game night every Thursday night and we invite our friends over to play tabletop games. We have also been known to have random Pokemon battles on our DSs. I love games. I am a gamer.

I have love games since as far back as I can remember. Seriously, who doesn’t like games? It’s not hard to convince kids to play games, so it’s not surprising my love started as a kid. When I was growing up we had a NES, then a Super NES. I was always jealous of the neighbor who had an N64 though. Then we got a PlayStation and eventually, a computer. There will always be a place in my heart for all the games I used to play growing up. I could play through Super Mario World in my sleep. After I moved out, I had a GameCube, PS2, XBOX and Dream-cast (some of those actually belonged to my boyfriend at the time, but I sure utilized them!). I then moved on to XBOX360, Wii and PS3. I have always love card games and board games as well. You could probably convince me to give ANY game a try. Games are such a great way to relieve stress and relax and socialize and in some cases, learn things. I love trivia games, and there are definitely things I didn’t know before answering a difficult trivia question. I can’t wait to play some fun educational games with my kids.

I have had a lot of favorites over the years. Some card games I played a lot were spades, hearts, euchre, up and down the river and Texas hold ’em, though there have definitely been other great ones. Video games are a longer list. When I was young, it was any Mario or Donkey Kong game, Crash Bandicoot and Oddworld. When I was a teenager I played more computer games, such as SimCity, The Sims, Pharaoh, any Tycoon games, Half-life, and many online games at Pogo.com. As I got back into console gaming I played a variety of different kinds of games. I have fond memories of having LAN parties and playing Halo with friends, Metroid Prime, PSO and beat ’em up games like Soul Calibur and Tekken. I also got pretty addicted to Animal Crossing for a while. Another one of my biggest addictions was when I was in college and at every party I went to, people were playing Guitar Hero. I became incredibly good at that game. Like, really really good. Since I have been with my husband, a little over 5 years now, I have definitely adopted a love of his game preferences. Some favorites of mine over the years have been the Dynasty/Samurai Warriors games, Fallout Games, Jade Empire, Resident Evil 5, Elder Scrolls games, and all the Mass Effect games. The Mass Effect storyline had become my favorite video game story ever. If they made a movie, I would be SO excited. Even if it wasn’t about Commander Shepard. I was one of the ones who was slightly disappointed at the ending of ME3 when it came out, but that doesn’t mean it’s not an amazing story. Another game that I got really into was SWTOR. The only MMORPG that I have ever played and I loved it. I really miss playing that game.

My husband and I have a pretty impressive collection of tabletop games now because we love to play. While I used to play the classics like Monopoly and Risk when I was young, I like to think that I’ve graduated to bigger and better games. Some of our favorites are Munchkin (we have several expansions), Settler’s of Catan, Smallworld, Say Anything, Know It or Blow It, Smartass, and there are so many more. We also continue to play card games and if a friend ever puts on a poker night, I am there!

Even if I don’t play games as much, or even if I took a break from playing for a while, I will always consider myself a gamer. I will always love it. It will always be who I am.

Are you a gamer? And what are your favorite games to play?

2 thoughts on “Are you a gamer?

  1. Pingback: Me, Gaming! | K-Bunny

  2. Pingback: Favorite Games | Forty to?

Leave a Reply

